Isn’t it ironic…

don’t you think?

ironic |īˈränik|

adjective

using or characterized by irony: his mouth curved into an ironic smile.

• happening in the opposite way to what is expected, and typically causing wry amusement because of this: [ with clause ] : it was ironic that now that everybody had plenty of money for food, they couldn’t obtain it because everything was rationed.

I think Alanis Morisette paved the way for my life to be filled with irony. Jagged Little Pill was a staple in my teens. I would play her CD over and over until my dad swore his ears were bleeding and he was 100% convinced she wasn’t singing, he called it, if I remember right, “screaming.”

Seriously though, what do dad’s know?  I will admit…Alanis was raw and loud both through her singing and her lyrics, and she actually was the first “ah-ha moment” I have of truly understanding the importance of life being “unfair” even if I didn’t know what Chardonnay was. There were days where I would play the song Ironic over and over on repeat until I believed that I sounded just as good if not better than Alanis herself.

I would sit there and think of that terrified father that had never been on a plane before and his poor children and their future. How scary would it be knowing that you wouldn’t get to say goodbye and that he had never been on a plane before and that the choice he made sealed his fate? How ironic. Or, how about the old man who won the lottery, but then he died the next day? How ironic…don’t you think? I’ve realized as I get older and wiser over the years that life is all about choices and their unpredictable consequences.

Alanis actually put into words very easily how shitty the world’s timing can be and for that I will forever be thankful. Thankful to my parents for letting me purchase my very first CD that had a couple of curse words in it, and thankful to Alanis for opening my eyes to a world of expectations, but yet so many disappointments.

ironic-quotes

I personally think that Webster’s definition of ironic sucks, and that they somehow make it into something that is amusing…but irony isn’t always funny or entertaining. In fact, I’m pretty sure that if I could kick irony’s ass, I would.

So however you want to word it…ironic, cynical, negative, I’m feeling it. Nothing could have prepared me for the irony that I have experienced these past few months. Not even Alanis herself.

As most of you know, I already am fearful that I have passed down my lyme disease to my children through pregnancy and breastfeeding. As some of you know, it’s now being proven that lyme disease is not just carried in ticks, but that they are finding it in any blood sucking insect such as spiders, mosquitoes, fleas, mites, etc. and that a few months ago my 3 year old daughter displayed the classic bullseye rash on her leg and became instantly symptomatic within the first 24 hours of her bite. The thing is, this wasn’t a tick bite. She actually had four mosquito bites with one that had the bullseye rash around it.

It’s pretty much my worst nightmare. 

bullseye-rash-from-lyme-disease.jpg

The second I saw it, I thought I was going to throw up. I couldn’t think, I couldn’t breathe, and I couldn’t remember a damn thing that I had so passionately researched over the years about how to handle a circumstance like this one. To sum it up nicely, I FREAKED out.

How ironic is it that I’m terrified that my kiddos already have Lyme disease, and then an everyday, annoying blood-sucking insect turned that nightmare into a reality?

In case you were wondering, Amelia is doing much better now and is displaying no signs of infection, which I am so grateful for.

But, to add salt to the wound, our wonderful Ollie cat got sick. It started out as a respiroatory issue basically since we’ve had him but the vet kept insisting it was just a cold…six antibiotocs later and we switched vets. Our cat, that I so carefully picked out, and all I wanted was a cat that was healthy and had not been exposed to any outside garbage, ended up having Mycoplasma pneumonia. To some, that may mean very little, to other’s that will be the icing on my ironic cake. Mycoplasma is actually a tick born co-infection, although, it is is suspected that he got it from his mother since her entire litter ended up getting sick by…drum roll…a flea bite. Interesting, isn’t it? Maybe a little too ironic?

Ollie appears to be better after being on doxy (an antibiotic often given to humans to fight Lyme). In fact, he was probably treated better and more accurately than my own daughter. Ironic, right? Animals today are tested yearly for Lyme disease, they are also given the right antibiotics and for the right amount of time to be on them. How ironic was it that I had to fight for my daughter to get antibiotics and then I had to fight even more to get a longer amount of it, but our house cat got everything he needed to cure him without the vet batting an eye or even running one test? Something is seriously wrong with this picture.

So, at one point in time two of my “kiddos” were on medicines for infections caused by bugs. Can I just quickly say this? I freaking HATE bugs. I don’t care how beneficial some are…I really don’t. They could all be dead to me tomorrow and I would be okay with that. Mother Nature might not be and people that love flowers, fruit, and millions of other things maybe upset, but at this point…I honestly don’t care. There used to be a balance…and now it’s just BUGS.

bug-e1405601568854

A million other things have happened in the past few months that I don’t even think I have enough strength or stamina to write about. As you can see, I’ve been working on this one now for several weeks.

And just in case you live under a rock, didn’t have me as an art teacher, or didn’t grow up in the 90’s; here is one of the best songs ever written. (In my humble opinion, of course)

“Ironic”

An old man turned ninety-eight

He won the lottery and died the next day

It’s a black fly in your Chardonnay

It’s a death row pardon two minutes too late

And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think

It’s like rain on your wedding day

It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid

It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take

Who would’ve thought… it figures

Mr. Play It Safe was afraid to fly

He packed his suitcase and kissed his kids goodbye

He waited his whole damn life to take that flight

And as the plane crashed down he thought

“Well isn’t this nice…”

And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think

It’s like rain on your wedding day

It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid

It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take

Who would’ve thought… it figures

Well life has a funny way of sneaking up on you

When you think everything’s okay and everything’s going right

And life has a funny way of helping you out when

You think everything’s gone wrong and everything blows up

In your face

A traffic jam when you’re already late

A no-smoking sign on your cigarette break

It’s like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife

It’s meeting the man of my dreams

And then meeting his beautiful wife

And isn’t it ironic…don’t you think

A little too ironic…and, yeah, I really do think…

It’s like rain on your wedding day

It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid

It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take

Who would’ve thought… it figures

Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you

Life has a funny, funny way of helping you out

Helping you out…

51w6nuyonfl

Leave a Reply

