Dear younger me…

I’ve heard this song played on the radio several times the past few weeks and each time I hear it, it really hits close to home. I find myself thinking about it most of the day afterwards. Almost obsessing about it. What if we all could go back in time and write a letter to our younger selves? What would you say? Would you even listen? Could you have prevented heartache and pain? Would you still be the person you are today? How often do we hear, “you can’t change the past?” How often do we wish we could? 


I will admit, I’m stubborn. I’ve never liked being told what to do and if you are/were really bossy with me I will/would typically do the complete opposite. Therefore, I wonder…would I have even taken this letter to my younger self even seriously? But, what if for some reason I did take it seriously and I could have changed where I currently am today? Chances are knowing myself and knowing how I’ve always been defiant and gone against the grain, I would have simply ignored it…but I can’t help and wonder if some of my heartache and pain could have been avoided? 

Life is hard. It doesn’t matter if you are sick, healthy, poor, or wealthy it’s a really challenging world we live in. 

If I could have written a letter to my younger self it would have gone something a little like this. 

Dear Younger Me,

Please don’t worry about your physical appearance so much. Clothes are just that, clothes. Please hear me loud and clear, you are not fat. You are beautiful and you don’t need to hide behind the makeup and your fake smile because you feel exposed and weak without it. Also, please don’t worry about getting straight A’s because when you interview for a job, no one cares if you had a 4.0 in college or high school. You have no idea what hard is yet, and so enjoy your childhood and college years as much as possible because the “real” world is nothing like you are expecting. It’s okay if you mess up and make mistakes, people will choose to forgive you or they won’t, but the world will keep spinning either way. Most importantly when you make those mistakes, you need to forgive yourself and learn to let go. You are going to be faced with many challenges as you grow older. Relationships, friendships, motherhood, adulthood, financial strains, and the buggiest of them all…your health. Please don’t take any of these things for granted. You will be forced to make decisions in your life that will affect all those around you both negatively and positively, but there is no reason to harbor guilt from these decisions. They needed to be made. You are much stronger than you think you are. You are going to learn a lot about the cruelty of this world and how unfair it can be earlier than most. Please handle this with grace. Do not harbor resentment or anger towards anyone or anything, because that will only hurt you in the end. You are going to get very sick and it’s going to seem like you are drowning when this happens, but be still and calm, and know that you are not alone. You will need to set a good example for your children, family, friends, and strangers that pass your way. Be humble. Always be humble. And be prepared for anything because it will not turn out how you think it will, but that’s okay. You are going to learn and grow from the circumstances handed to you, and you are going to help others. Don’t ever stop learning. Don’t ever stop believing. Don’t ever stop loving. Don’t ever stop dreaming. And, most importantly, don’t ever give up. 

Love always,

Current Me 


My inspiration came from this particular song by Mercy Me.

Dear younger me
Where do I start

If I could tell you everything that I have learned so far

Then you could be

One step ahead

Of all the painful memories still running thru my head

I wonder how much different things would be

Dear younger me,

Dear younger me

I cannot decide

Do I give some speech about how to get the most out of your life

Or do I go deep

And try to change

The choices that you’ll make cuz they’re choices that made me

Even though I love this crazy life

Sometimes I wish it was a smoother ride

Dear younger me, dear younger me

If I knew then what I know now

Condemnation would’ve had no power

My joy my pain would’ve never been my worth

If I knew then what I know now

Would’ve not been hard to figure out

What I would’ve changed if I had heard

Leave a Reply

