Reflection…31 Awesome Years

As I reflect upon the 31 years that I have been on this earth, I am amazed at all of the wonderful opportunities that have been given to me. It gives me goosebumps to think of all of the things I have done in my life and I still have so much life ahead of me! 

  
I’ve traveled to England twice! I’ve eaten my way through Italy and saw some of the most beautiful artwork. I have traveled with friends, families, and students to different parts of the world: Texas, Florida, Colorado, Arizona, Mexico, Niagra Falls, Las Vegas, New York, and many more. I have seen and done things that not everyone can say they have. I have also met so many awesome people along the way!   
 I am blessed beyond measure!  

    
  
I got to marry my high school sweetheart, and we have been together for 15 years and still going strong. We both went to great colleges and I even got to live in Chicago for a year. God has blessed us with two beautiful children that keep us on our toes. We have great jobs. Jobs that make an impact on so many students’ lives. We have helped shape and mold the future. We have a wonderful house full of great memories, and vehicles that are dependable. We have great families that love us no matter what and some of the best friends we could ever ask for. I have made so many friends over the years and some I have lost touch with, but some I keep getting closer and closer to. Either way, those friends have made a difference along the way. 

All of these things have happened for a reason and with purpose. Life is a blessing. 

I know we have been handed a challenging year, but I also know that we will get through this. We are stronger and more grounded in our faith and we know God chose us to have to endure these hardships because we can and are able to. We are strong enough that we can overcome anything that He gives us, because we know He wouldn’t give us something that we couldn’t handle.        
I can choose to do two things: feel sorry for myself (which is extremely easy) or feel blessed and appreciate what I have been given. Yes, life is hard. Yes, life is unfair and it can be cruel. Yes, it would be easy to give up. But, what kind of example would we be setting for our children, our current and past students, and anyone else that has touched our lives?  

Life is full of lessons. What have I learned from the past 31 years? First of all, that life is too short. I’m also learning to let go of the things I cannot control, forgive and forget, and to pick myself up after I have stumbled and to try and do it with grace. To have patience and to be compassionate and understanding because everyone has their on battle they are fighting, their own story to tell. And most importantly, to not take life for granted and to remind myself everyday that I am blessed
  

It’s time for me to move on with my life and stop wondering, “why?” It’s time for me to start saying, “thank you.” Thank you for blessing me with an awesome and beautiful family, husband, friends, children, job, house, health (it could always be worse), faith, love, support, and forgiveness. 

I can’t wait to see what the years ahead hold for our family. What path we will travel next? 

I know one thing, we will continue to rise up from the ashes and humble ourselves. We know how easily everything can be taken away and it’s time for me to start showing more appreciation for this beautiful, yet complicated and blessed life I have been given. 

2 thoughts on “Reflection…31 Awesome Years

  1. Thanks for reminding me what I have to be thankful for. My life hasnt been easy by a long shot but its better than alot of others so I need to be more thankful and stop the self pity of being on disability when so many are desperately trying to get it and cant. I dont always like it but I get to stay home with my child. Thanks for reminding me. And yes, you have an awesome life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

